Illustration: Wittenburg

A Museum with a Prospect

The site

Illustration 1
View of the Wittenburg court building around 1910. Wittenburg municipal archives.

Illustration 2
Public buildings in Mecklenburg. Painting by the artist Friedrich Jentzen from Schwerin, (1815-1901); State Chancellery, Schwerin.

There could scarcely be a finer setting for a museum: white, and visible for miles around, the FlourWorld Museum is set like a crown on Wittenburg’s Amtsberg Hill. The neo-classical building was erected in 1848 on the foundations of a medieval palace. And the palace, in turn, was built on the remains of a castle complex of Wendish (Slavic) origin.

From a Wendish castle to a royal widow’s residence

After the great migration of the peoples, between 400 and 600 A.D., the tribe of the Polabians settled in the area and built a Wendish castle on an artificial hill that is now the Amtsberg. Around 1150 the recapture of the Wendland by the superior forces of the Saxon duke Henry the Lion began, and the old castle was destroyed in the fierce fighting.
The site of the castle, cleverly chosen in the marshy flood plain of the river, formed a natural basis for a new fortress around which craftsmen settled and vigorous trade developed. The town of Wittenburg was founded as early as 1226, and the Amtsberg Hill may be regarded as its nucleus.

Around 1282, with the castle and massive fortifications around the centre of the town, Wittenburg developed into a notable location of the time. In the 16th century the palace on the Amtsberg Hill was the residence of the widowed duchess Anna Sophie, who held a protective hand over the citizens of Wittenburg and brought them prosperity with the establishment of smelting works and hammer mills for iron.

But in the centuries that followed the castle complex and palace gradually fell into decay. Only the gate tower, now lovingly restored, was able to survive the increasing ravages of time.

From a court building to a museum

The hill acquired its present appearance around the middle of the 19th century, when the imposing court building that still exists was built to serve the town and the surrounding area. The idyllic situation with a park and vegetable garden gave the site an unusual and charming atmosphere.

Until recently another imposing brick building from the same period, originally erected as a prison, stood at the entrance to the hill opposite the gate tower. Sadly, it became more and more dilapidated and had to be demolished in August 2006.

The court building itself was occupied from 1928 to 1944 by the judge of the time, Dr. Carl Tabel, his wife and seven children, and by the second judge – called Renn – and his wife. This “rennted” court building was rumoured to be profitable as well. After the war it was then used by the Soviet commandant’s headquarters for several years.

From 1950 the building served as a school: first as a vocational school, then from 1960 to 2004 as a primary school, and finally – until the summer of 2007 – as a branch of the local  Christian Ludwig Liscow Grammar School.

By the way: Mühlenchemie’s production facility SternMaid is also located in Wittenburg.

Mühlenchemie

The FlourWorld Museum Wittenburg is an initiative of Mühlenchemie.
A member of the Stern-Wywiol Gruppe.

Illustration Wittenburg

Ein Museum mit Weitblick

Der Standort

Illustration 1
Ansicht des Wittenburger Amtsgerichts um 1910, Stadtarchiv Wittenburg

Illustration 2
Mecklenburger Amtshäuser, Gemälde des Schweriner Malers Friedrich Jentzen (1815–1901), Staatskanzlei zu Schwerin

Schöner könnte das Museum kaum gelegen sein – hoch oben auf dem Wittenburger Amtsberg thront das MehlWelten Museum weiß und weithin sichtbar. Das neoklassizistische Gebäude wurde 1848 auf den Grundmauern eines mittelalterlichen Schlosses errichtet. Das Schloss wiederum gründete sich auf einer Burganlage wendischen Ursprungs.

Von der wendischen Burg zum Witwensitz

Nach der Völkerwanderung um 400 bis 600 n. Chr. ließ sich der Stamm der Polaben in der Gegend nieder und errichtete auf der künstlich aufgeschütteten Anhöhe des heutigen Amtsbergs eine wendische Burganlage. Um 1150 begann die Wiedereroberung des Wendenlandes durch die überlegene Kriegsmacht des Sachsenherzogs, Heinrich des Löwen, und die alte Burganlage wurde nach erbitterten Kämpfen zerstört.

Der mit Bedacht gewählte Burgstandort in der sumpfigen Flussniederung bildete auch die natürliche Basis für die neue Festung. Zu deren Füßen entwickelten sich bald Handwerk und reger Handel und bereits 1226 erfolgte die Stadtgründung – der Amtsberg gilt somit als Keimzelle der Stadt Wittenburg.

Mit der Burganlage und einer trutzigen Wehranlage um den Stadtkern entwickelte sich Wittenburg um 1282 zu einem prägnanten Standort für die damalige Zeit. Im 16. Jahrhundert war das Schloss auf dem Amtsberg noch Witwensitz der Herzogin Anna Sophie, die ihre schützende Hand über die Bürger Wittenburgs hielt und ihnen mit der Ansiedlung von Schmelzhütten und Eisenhammerwerken Wohlstand brachte.

In den folgenden Jahrhunderten jedoch verfielen Burganlage und Schloss zunehmend. Allein der heute liebevoll sanierte Torturm konnte dem jahrhundertelangen Verfall trotzen.

Vom Amtsgerichtsgebäude zum Museum

Seine heutige Gestaltung erhielt der Amtsberg ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. In dieser Zeit wurde hier das repräsentative und bis heute erhaltene Amtsgerichtsgebäude für Stadt und Umgebung errichtet. Die idyllische Lage mit Lust- und Nutzgarten gab dem Areal ein besonderes Flair.

Bis vor kurzem stand am Eingang zum Amtsberg, dem Torturm gegenüber, ein weiterer stattlicher Backsteinbau aus dieser Zeit, der ursprünglich als Gefängnis errichtet wurde. Leider wurde das Gebäude auf Grund seines ungestoppten Verfalls im August 2006 abgerissen.

Das Amtsgericht selbst wurde von 1930 bis 1944 vom damaligen Amtsgerichtsrat Dr. Carl Tabel, seiner Frau und seinen sieben Kindern sowie vom zweiten Amtsgerichtsrat Renn und seiner Frau bewohnt. Mundartlich sprach man von einem „rentablen“ Amtsgericht. Nach dem Krieg besetzte für einige Jahre die sowjetische Kommandantur das Gebäude.

Ab 1950 diente es schließlich als Schule: zunächst als Berufsschule, von etwa 1960 bis 2004 als Grundschule und bis zum Sommer 2007 dann als Außenstelle des örtlichen Christian-Ludwig-Liscow-Gymnasiums.

In Wittenburg befindet sich übrigens auch der Mühlenchemie-Produktionsstandort SternMaid.

Mühlenchemie

Das MehlWelten Museum Wittenburg ist eine Initiative der Mühlenchemie.
Ein Unternehmen der Stern-Wywiol Gruppe.